Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The recent couple of posts have been a bit on the serious side, so let this one be more on the light side. Something I came across on the internet today reminded me of one of my “I can’t believe I did that” moments. So, let me tell you about the time I bought the (in)famous self help book, “The Secret”. Yeah, yeah, I know, please go ahead and laugh at me. I will wait while you collect yourself.

Okay, done? Shall we get back to the topic then? All right, I confess I did buy the weird *cough* stupid*cough* book. A hard-copy. Yeah. In my defense, I thought it had something to do with ‘Aladdin and the Magic Lamp’ from the Arabian Nights (hey, that’s what they showed in the ads!). being the sucker for fantasy that I am, I didn’t think too much before buying it. As it happened, I asked my father to get a copy on his way home from work, which means I did not get a chance to flip through before buying the damn thing. My mistake.

As I was started reading the book, I was slightly disappointed, but decided not to judge it, expecting to find at least some positive and useful tips about life. After reading the last page, I double-checked to make sure that it was really over. It was… confounding, to put it mildly. The book seemed pointless, like the author was trying to say something, but lost her train of thought in the process. There was much talk about some law of attraction but even after reading the whole book, it was still unclear what on earth it could be. I tried googling about it, but all the descriptions seemed rather vague. I kid you not when I say that it was a couple of days before I realised that whatever I read in the book was probably all I was going to find. Ah, sometimes you have to be slapped in the face by life to learn a lesson.

If anyone reading this is a fan of the book or the author, I don’t mean to offend you, but I would like to suggest that there are better books out there that actually give practical advice and don’t leave you befuddled in a surge of warm, cozy feelings. If it is a feel-good book you need, there are plenty of others that do the job, but also with an entertaining story in them. If you want sensible advice and a concrete plan, go for something else. I found “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” by Stephen R Covey to be helpful, because the concepts were laid out in a methodical and logical fashion (just don’t ask me how much I actually follow; I love making plans, not necessarily executing them). I think it avoids too many trimmings and fillers. More to the point, it doesn’t say things like, “let me show you how to be superman (or superwoman), with this magic pill!” (Disclaimer: I have not read any of his other books, so I can’t speak for them)

That was one of the stupid things I did. What about you? Feel free to share something you did that made you say, “I can’t believe I did that!” Come on, we are all friends here! 😉

