Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am currently reading two books, one of which is The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer. It is not usual for me to read two books at a time; it is difficult to keep up with both and one may get discontinued over the course. However, The Canterbury Tales, as you probably know, is written in verse form in Medieval English and, in my opinion, it deserves a certain level of thought and reflection while reading it. This means that if I wait until I finish this one, it will be some time before I can start another book. Hence, the two books at a time arrangement.

Alright, this post is not about reading two books simultaneously. This is about The Canterbury Tales. Now, I have not shared this earlier, but language is one of my passions. In fact, am planning on getting a Master’s degree in linguistics. It is a delight to discover outdated words and expressions. I know a bit of German, and while reading the book I come across older versions of some words which point to their Germanic origins. It is so much satisfying to compare and find connections between languages. One of my observations (which many of you might already know) is the evolution of the suffix “-eth” (as in cometh, thinketh, etc.) into the third person indicative suffix of verbs, for example, “she comes” and “he thinks” instead of “she cometh” and “he thinketh”. I am assuming that this replacement could be because “th” sounds like a lisped “s”. This observation might sound trivial to a more experienced linguist/language enthusiast, but still it was rather exciting to discover it on my own. There are a few more like that, mostly, discoveries about the origins of certain words, but this particular one is what I remember most.

So, is anyone else interested in languages? Do you have something to share? I would love to hear from you.

